top of page

Assignment 26: Mentorship Reflection

This year as a student teacher has been a journey of growth and learning. Through teaching others a difficult subject, I was able to learn how to convey ideas clearly and effectively with very different individuals. Being in a classroom everyday, I was able to really get to know my students and how they learn best to make sure they got the most out of the lesson. I did not realize how strong of a bond teachers make with their students being with them everyday. It truly has opened my eyes to the intricacies of the school system that often does not get talked about. My favorite thing about my Mentorship was most definitely the relationships I made. 

The actions I took to get the most out of my Mentorship were being proactive in the classroom, effectively sharing ideas, and being willing to help my mentor with whatver she needed. The entirety of my actions was of servitude, to both my mentor and my students. The act of helping was so fulfilling that I cannot wait to do it in the future. This Mentorship has prepared me for the future by allowing me to work closely with an adult in a business setting to learn the teaching profession. If I had not been a student teacher this year, I would not of found my true passion for helping others. 

It definitely has shown me that I truly do not want to be a teacher. Teachers are amazing individuals who do amazing work. However, I know now I’m not meant to be one of them. Instead, I desire to help students from a political standpoint. I will be a policy writer to improve the educational climate of our country to better serve students and teachers alike. 

My advice for future HMP students: savor every second of your Mentorship and learn as much as you can. Opportunities this amazing don’t happen often so take advantage! 


Featured Review
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page